27 April, 2016

Dorothy must die by Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die is the first book in a trilogy for young adults.

When a tornado sweeps through the trailer park where Amy Gumm lives she is transported to the magical world of OZ. At the end of the Wizard of OZ after murdering two witches, deposing the ruler of the Emerald City and leaving a power vacuum that would eventually be filled by a scarecrow, Dorothy returns to her Aunty Em and their depression era farm. Dorothy immediately regrets her decision. She returns to OZ, seizes power and installs herself as the all-powerful, gingham clad ruler of OZ.

Under Dorothy’s rule OZ has become a darker, more sinister place. Amy is recruited by the order of the wicked, taught magic and trained to assassinate Dorothy (and her little dog too). Unable to trust her allies Amy can only rely on herself as she is sent on her first mission.

I liked the premise of the story and how Paige took OZ and its characters and twisted them into something new but still recognisable. Dorothy Must Die ends on a cliff hanger so if you find yourself enjoying the book get the next book in the series, The Wicked Will Rise, because it starts right after the first book ends.

Title: Dorothy Must Die
Author: Danielle Paige

Recommended by Murray L, Devonport Library

Murray L enjoys horror, sci-fi, fantasy and mystery books

No comments:

Post a Comment

Kia ora! Please feel free to leave your comments or suggestions below.